The Ugly Truth

NUP_5104One day away from Ryans 4-month birthday and 1 kg away from my pre-pregnancy weight!

I’m definitely not making this post to brag how great I am and how hard I work, although those statements are both true 😊.

I always tell my moms not to prioritize weight loss straight after having a baby! I absolutely 100% stand by it. This is the time to let your body heal, enjoy your new baby, take it easy and eat well…

Alrighty, it all sound fantastic and looks good on the paper. But let’s talk some reality imagesnow. Let your body heal! OK. That to me sounds like get your rest, sleep, sit on the couch and enjoy your cuppa etc. Should I go on 😊? We all know that there’s no (am I aloud to curse here?) smurfing healing involved in new moms life. New baby wants all of you, all the time 24/7. If you have other kids, pets, husbands… They all want a piece of you as well. There goes your peaceful healing!

NUP_8284 copy

Enjoying the new baby! Yes! They are adorable! And enjoyable! And cute! And you’re filled with love and warm fluff. But the reality is that everyone else around you, other kids, pets, husbands want a piece of you as well. So not much time to enjoy that little baby. While the new arrival is content and happy, we run around trying to feed everyone else in the house, do the washing, make the fire, go to toilet! And when all the chores are done, you get the crying baby who gave all her happy smiles to others, while you were running around like a lunatic to provide for those others. There goes the enjoying the baby!

Take it easy! Ha, yes! Now, I’m only writing this from my point of view and according toIMG_4622-vi my life. We’re all different, and I hope there are some of you who can actually take it easy 😉 I was totally stressed and exhausted when I had my first 6 years ago. Little did I know how easy I had it 😊. Different ballgame with 2 (3 if you add running your own business). And I’m sure if you have 3 or more kids, you’re rolling your eyes at me and thinking, 2 is easy peasy! So your average household… Husband is working all day every day and you’re at home with kids! That’s enough said. Every mother knows what I mean by that, no need to explain!!! And there goes your taking it easy part!

NUP_2795Eat well! Yeah! So important, it is! And now tell me, where does the time come to cook 3 healthy meals a day? I didn’t even have time for this when I was single. Now… I have no time to even pee, what cooking we’re talking about here. 3 meals a day, haha. Meal prep! Even bigger haha for me. Maybe I’m just unorganized and bitter!?

So… Back to the beginning. 1 kg away from my pre-pregnancy weight. I’d love to say it’s due to healthy eating and regular exercise but come on. In Estonia we have a saying: “The cobbler walks barefoot”.IMG_0630

I’ve had few people telling me now that I look great and fit. No, nothing to do with fit. I’m starved because I have no time to cook or eat. And I’m stressed because I have no time to cook or eat 😊. And every new mom is like this! After all that said, I will still keep telling you to take it easy and eat well. But most importantly to enjoy your new baby!

Good luck to all of us! And we’re doing a GREAT job! All of us!!! 😉

Airike

Leave a comment